Raikkonen wins as Vettel finishes third

Kimi Raikkonen won a chaotic Abu Dhabi Grand Prix beating Fernando Alonso and Sebastian Vettel.

Raikkonen’s victory is the first for the Lotus team and his first since 2009. The Lotus driver inherited the lead from pole sitter Lewis Hamilton who retired on lap 20 after losing drive.

Alonso took second ahead of Vettel who recovered from starting in the pit lane to finish an impressive third.

Vettel was helped to third by some first lap chaos that saw the two Force Indias collide with Bruno Senna, leaving Nico Hulkenberg to retire and the incident is still to be investigated by the stewards. Nico Rosberg and Romain Grosjean also collided on lap one to allow Vettel to move up the field.

Rosberg then caused the first safety car of the race after his Mercedes launched over the top of Narian Karthikeyan’s HRT on lap nine.

Vettel had moved up to 13th position but had picked up damage from avoiding Daniel Ricciardo’s Toro Rosso and having contact with Senna and was forced to pit. Hamilton led from the restart but retired with a mechanical problem once again to the benefit of Vettel.

Another safety car was deployed after Sergio Perez and Romain Grosjean collided after a battle between them and Paul di Resta. Grosjean’s damaged car was hit by Webber and both were forced to retire.

Perez received a stop/go penalty for his contribution to the accident and would only manage to finish 15th.

The safety car allowed a fourth placed Vettel to catch Jenson Button and overtake him for third. Button had no answer and went on to finish fourth ahead of Pastor Maldonado in fifth.

Kobayashi finished a strong sixth for Sauber ahead of Felipe Massa in the second Ferrari. Senna and di Resta recovered to eighth and ninth respectively whilst Ricciardo finished tenth.

Michael Schumacher finished outside the points in 11th ahead of Jean-Eric Vergne in 12th. Behind them Heikki Kovalinen finished 13th for Caterham ahead of Timo Glock in 14th. Vitaly Petrov finished 16th in the second Caterham ahead of the last finisher Pedro de la Rosa.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s