Vettel is champion as Button wins in Brazil

Sebastian Vettel won his third consecutive drivers title after finishing sixth in a dramatic Brazilian Grand Prix that was won by Jenson Button.

The mixed weather conditions saw Fernando Alonso finish second after moving up when Lewis Hamilton was knocked out of the race after a clash with earlier race leader Nico Hulkenberg.

Vettel had been involved in a first lap incident leaving him at the back of the grid after contact with Bruno Senna and Sergio Perez.

As the conditions worsened only Button and Hulkenberg stayed out on slicks with the other drivers changing to intermediates. The pace of the Force India allowed Hulkenberg to pass Button and begin to pull away from the field.

A safety car was deployed due to debris on the track and the field was closed back up with Alonso in fourth and Vettel fifth.

Hamilton overtook Button for second position as Hulkenberg began to extend a lead until a spin let Hamilton through. The pair continued to battle for position and clashed at turn one leaving Hamilton unable to continue. Hulkenberg was given a drive through penalty for the incident.

The rain returned and drivers were forced to pit for intermediates and Button led the race until the end, which finished under safety car after Paul di Resta crashed in the closing stages.

Alonso’s second place was not enough to clinch the title and teammate Felipe Massa finished third behind him to secure second on the constructors championship for Ferrari.

Mark Webber finished fourth ahead of Hulkenberg in fifth with Vettel in sixth.

Red Bull won both the constructors and driver title in 2013

Red Bull won both the constructors and driver title 

Michael Schumacher finished his last every Grand Prix in seventh after letting Vettel past in the closing laps. Behind him Jean-Eric Vernge was eighth ahead of Kamui Kobayashi and Kimi Raikkonen.

Vitaly Petrov was 11th securing Caterham 10th in the constructors ahead of Charles Pic. Behind them Daniel Ricciardo, Heikki Kovalainen, Nico Rosberg, Timo Glock and the HRTs.

The non finishers were Hamilton, Romain Grosjean, Pastor Maldonado, Senna and Sergio Perez.

An exciting end to an exciting season but coming into this race the driver’s championship looked like it was Vettel’s for the taking. Bring on 2013.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s