Spanish Grand Prix 2013: Rosberg secures pole for Mercedes

Mercedes secured a one-two on the grid for tomorrow’s Spanish Grand Prix with Nico Rosberg beating Lewis Hamilton to pole.

Mercedes had dominated both Q1 and Q2- but Hamilton had lead Rosberg in both. The pair beat the Red Bull of Sebastian Vettel who finished the session in 3rd but will be their closest competition for Sunday.

Kimi Raikkonen will start fourth for Lotus whilst behind him Fernando Alonso is 5th and his teammate Felipe Massa will start 6th. Romain Grosjean set the seventh fastest time whilst Mark Webber disappointed in the second Red Bull only managing the eighth fastest time.

McLaren struggled in qualifying but Sergio Perez managed to set the ninth fastest time after only just making Q3. Teammate Jenson Button had a much worse day and will start tomorrow’s race from 14th.

Force India’s Paul di Resta will start 10th after a close fight in Q2 with the Toro Rosso’s and teammate Adrian Sutil. They line up behind him with Daniel Ricciardo 11th, Jean-Eric Vergne 12th and Sutil 13th.

Behind them there was disappointment for Sauber with Nico Hulkenberg starting 15th ahead of teammate Esteban Gutierrez in 16th. There was equal disappointment for Williams- last years winners in Spain- with both drivers failing to make Q2. Valtteri Bottas will start 17th ahead of Pastor Maldonado in 18th.

Giedo van der Garde impressed beating both his teammate and the two Marussias. He set the 19th fastest time for Caterham with Marussia’s Jules Bianchi and Max Chilton behind him. Van der Garde’s teammate Charles Pic will start last in 22nd place.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s